A chance to live in Broadchurch. Fabulous townhouse with stunning views and a chance to see David Tennant and Olivia Coleman!! Series 3 ends but the saga continues. Book your home and be part of the adventure.
David Tennant runs through the details for Quay West
Olivia ‘These details look seriously great’
Broadchurch or West Bay as it is better known is a stunning harbour side town.
West Bay, also known as Bridport Harbour, is a small harbour settlement and resort on the English Channel coast in Dorset, England, sited at the mouth of the River Brit approximately 1.5 miles (2.4 km) south of Bridport. The area is part of the Jurassic Coast, a World Heritage Site.
West Bay beach was used in the introduction to the BBC television series The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin and for location filming in the television series Harbour Lights. The town, harbour, and beach were used as locations in the 2013 ITV series Broadchurch.
Series One and Two The Coast Series Two – Charlotte Rampling – The Barristers House
Series One – The murder scene Series One The beach Series One The Police Station
Bridport historically needed a harbour in order to export its principal products, rope and nets. Originally the harbour was about 1 mile (1.6 km) inland, close to the town, and its exit to the sea—the river mouth—was 270 metres (300 yd) east of its current position. The Anglo-Saxons and Normans struggled to keep the harbour open because the river mouth repeatedly silted up and was blocked by shingle from Chesil Beach, so eventually a system of sluices was devised to help keep it clear.
In 1388 John Huderesfeld, a local merchant, started building a new harbour and levied a toll on goods loaded and unloaded. The toll was a market privilege granted to him for three years as a result of his petition that finishing the construction would not be possible without aid. After completion in 1395 a customs officer was employed full-time as trade grew. The new harbour prospered for fifty years until winter storms and an outbreak of Black Death damaged both its structure and trade, so in 1444 construction of a new harbour commenced—prompted by an indulgence granted by the Bishop of Sarum—and on its completion the harbour again prospered.
By the 18th century the small harbour was ill-equipped to deal with the increasing size of ships, plus the problems of silting and storm damage had never been fully resolved, so in 1740 work commenced on building another new harbour 270 metres (300 yd) to the west. This is the site of the harbour as seen today. Two piers, extending as far as the low tide mark, were constructed to house the harbour. The river was also diverted to run between the piers. The work cost £3,500 and was undertaken by John Reynolds of Cheshire. It was supposed to have taken only two years, but the new harbour didn’t open officially until 1744. It could hold forty sailing ships.
Shipbuilding yards were set up west of the new harbour. They constructed a variety of vessels including frigates, cutters, schooners, brigantines, barques and fishing smack. The first registered launch was the 270 ton brig Adventurer in 1779, the last was the Lilian exactly a century later. The largest launch was the 1,002 ton Speedy in 1853. At one point the yards employed 300 men. In 1823, in order to accommodate further increases in trade, the basin of the harbour was enlarged eastwards and the old harbour gates were replaced by a sluice. As well as exporting Bridport’s ropes, the harbour also imported raw materials such as gravel, coal and timber. By 1830 over 500 vessels were using the harbour each year.
Around 1865 the wooden piers were rebuilt in stone and the sluices were rebuilt. Despite these improvements however, trade at the harbour had begun to decline. Bridport’s rope and nets were in less demand, and sailing ships were being supplanted by steam-powered vessels. In addition, the Great Western Railway‘s Bridport Railway had reached Bridport in 1857, and started taking the harbour’s trade. The amount of harbour dues taken showed the extent of the decline: in 1881 they amounted to only 10% of those collected half a century before.
The railway was extended from Bridport to Bridport Harbour in 1884. The railway company named the new harbour station West Bay, as part of an effort to rebrand the harbour as a resort. Local businessmen—including the archaeologist Augustus Pitt Rivers and the Earl of Ilchester—funded the extension. Subsequently they established the West Bay Building Company to build villas and lodging houses for visitors. Only a terrace of ten lodging houses—Pier Terrace—was completed, designed by the Arts and Crafts Movement architect Edward Schroeder Prior in 1885. In 1942, because the terrace had an appearance reminiscent of some northern French ports, West Bay was used as a training ground for the Dieppe Raid. The terrace remains a prominent feature of the harbourside.
Between 1919 and 1930, coinciding with increased car ownership and personal mobility, new housing was built on the hillslope to the west of the harbour, on the landward side of West Cliff. The railway line between West Bay and Bridport closed to passengers in 1930, and operated for goods services only until its final closure in 1962. The station however was restored in the 1980s, and two old railway coaches have been installed on a short length of relaid track. In the second half of the 20th century further residential and tourism-related development occurred around the harbour and old shipbuilding area: new houses were built, old buildings were converted into cafés and shops, and several car parks were created.
At the start of the 21st century, as part of a new coastal defence scheme, the harbour’s west pier was replaced and the east pier rebuilt; the work was completed in March 2005. The new west pier is named the Jurassic Pier. The scheme extended the facilities of the harbour, with a new slipway and outer harbour. This has enabled the harbour to be used on the 50% of days when southerly swell conditions occur, which previously was not possible. After the construction work a small regeneration scheme was implemented, with new housing—called Quay West—built on the west side of the harbour, on part of the old shipyard area.
West Bay is The previous main commercial trade of the harbour—exporting Bridport’s ropes and nets—declined in the second half of the 19th century. When the railway arrived in 1884, attempts were made to provide the settlement with the facilities of a resort, and today West Bay has a mixed economy of tourism and fishing.
This is a stunning Town House right on the harbour side and offering some of the best views available of the harbour and Jurassic Coast.
The Ground Floor offers a very convenient and spacious Hall with access from the secure internal courtyard and parking. The Hall has its own Cloakroom and door into the fabulous open plan living and dining area with large panoramic doors giving access to large ground floor sun terrace with views directly over the harbour and towards Chesil Beach. Ideally sited off this room is a fully fitted kitchen which includes integrated washing machine, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and there is ample storage and work surfaces.
Ascend the stairs from the Ground Floor Hall and you arrive at a generous hall with door to the Master Bedroom, built in storage and with a stylish en-suite shower room with mirrored medicine cupboard. Their is also a lovely wide glazed wall with door to the terrace which provides stunning views over the harbour and is a morning sun trap. Fantastic.
From the Hall you also have the second generous double bedroom with mirrored doors to a generous wardrobe and again a fabulous terrace with lovely evening sunshine and views to the hills beyond. Directly adjacent to the bedroom there is the Family Bathroom although this is in effect only for the use of the second bedroom and this is beautifully appointed with a bath and shower attachment and ample space and mirrored medicine cupboard.
The Hall also gives access to the main boiler and storage tank.
The light and airy stair then takes you to the second floor where you find the third double bedroom with lovely en-suite shower room. There is also a study area with built in desk and large under eaves storage. There are large windows with a sliding glazed door to a massive second floor terrace with views across the harbour and Chesil Beach and towards the hills and Bridport.
This is a simply superb property, quite unique and with some of the best views to be found in the area.
There is a secure parking space in the underground car park.
If you want to live in the iconic setting for Broadchurch and previously many other TV series then this is as good as it gets !!
Living/Dining Room: 5.07 (16’8″) x 5.62 (18’5″)
Kitchen: 3.72 (12’2″) x 2.17 (7’1″)
Cloakroom: 2.31 (7’7″) x 0.84 (2’9″)
Master Bedroom: 3.12 (10’3″) 4.88 max x 5.62 (18’5″)
En-suite: 1.87 (6’2″) x 1.64 (5’%”)
Family Bathroom: 2.57 (8’5″) x 1.75 (5’9″)
Bedroom 2: 3.9 (12’10”) x 3.53 (11’7″
Bedroom 3: 3.54 (11’7″) x 3.31 (10’10”) incl storage
En-suite: 1.89 (6’2″) x 1.39 (4’7″)
West Bay DT6 4GZ, United Kingdom